Top Text.png

Permian Basin Water in Energy Conference

February 20 - 23, 2018, Agenda

(Click to Download)

Tuesday – February 20

5:45 - 9:00 PM  Opening Reception and Registration at Petroleum Museum

6:30 PM - Keynote Speaker

Michael Webber, Deputy Director, UT Energy Institute

Wednesday, February 21 - Day 1

7:30 AM - Registration at Midland County Horseshoe Arena - coffee and light breakfast

8:30 AM - Welcoming Remarks by Dr. Sandra Woodley, President, UT Permian Basin

Session One: Source and Supply

Session Chair: Byron Geeslin - Vice President, Layne Water Midstream

8:45 AM - Sources & Infrastructure 

Todd Abbott, President, Pioneer Water Management

9:10 AM -  Supply Challenges & Opportunities

Panel Participants:      

Ben Warden, Water Management Supervisor, Diamondback Energy

Van Kelley, P.G., Senior Vice President, INTERA (based in Texas)

Robert Huizenga, Water Resources Manager, Cimarex Energy

David Jordan, P.E., Vice President, INTERA (based in New Mexico)

John Jaskula, Water Logistics Foreman, Energen 

10:05AM - Wastewater: New Source of Supply

John Grant, General Manager, Colorado River Municipal Water District 

10:30 AM - Break - Coffee & Pastries Provided

Session Two: Reuse and Recycle

SESSION CHAIR: R. Mark Henkhaus - Permian Region Regulatory Manager, Apache Corporation

10:45 AM - Economics of Treating and Reusing Produced Water for Completions

Tyler Hussey, Apache Corporation

11:10 AM - Produced Water Recycling Technology

Brent Smith, BD Manager - Production Services, Sabre Energy Services, LLC     

11:25AM - Experiences with Reuse

Panel Participants:      

Ryan Marshall, P.E., Water Resources Manager, Callon Petroleum Company

Robert Huizenga, Water Resources Manager, Cimarex Energy

Scooter Foreman, Senior Water Development Foreman, Apache Corporation

Jim Newman, Senior Vice President, Basic Energy Services

Anthony Smith, Market Segment Manager-Completions, Clariant

12:15 PM - Break - Lunch Provided - Keynote Speech

The Permian on the Worldwide Stage:
Using the Best Technology (and Texas Mojo)
to Recover and Protect Our Resources

Keynote Speaker - Kirk Edwards, President, Latigo Petroleum

Session Three: Law and Regulation

SESSION CHAIR: Monica Jacobs - Partner, Chair, Environmental & Water Law Section, Kelly Hart & Hallman

1:30 PM - Oil & Water: Comparison of Water Law in Texas and New Mexico

Elizabeth Newlin Taylor, Partner, Taylor & McCaleb (Albuquerque)

Monica Jacobs, Chair, Environmental & Water Law Section, Kelly Hart & Hallman (Austin)

2:30 PM - Perspectives from Groundwater Conservation Districts

Panel Participants:      

Ken Carver, General Manager of Glasscock GCD

Summer Webb, General Manager of Culberson and Brewster GCDs

Scott Holland, General Manager of Irion and Sterling GCDs

3:15 PM - Break - Coffee & Snacks Provided

3:25 PM - Perspectives from New Mexico

Dr. Bruce Thomson, University of New Mexico, Regents Professor, Dept. of Civil Engineering

Contributor: Scott Verhines, Former New Mexico State Engineer

4:00 PM - Poster Sessions

4:30 PM - Adjourn for the Day

6:00 PM - Cocktails and Dinner at Odessa Country Club (Provided)

Keynote Speaker - Ben Shepperd, President, Permian Basin Petroleum Association

Thursday, February 22 - Day 2

7:30 AM Coffee and Light Breakfast

8:30 AM - Welcome Back to Midland County Horseshoe Arena and Announcements

Session Four: Evolving Midstream Business

SESSION CHAIR: Stephen McNair - Chief Development Officer, H2O Midstream

8:45 AM - Midstream Model for Water

Jim Summers, Chief Executive Officer, H2O Midstream 

9:10 AM - Midstream Challenges & Opportunities

Panel Participants:      

J. Michael Anderson, President and Chief Financial Officer, Layne Water Midstream

Michael Dunkel, Vice President, CH2M

John Durand, President and Chief Operating Officer, WaterBridge Resources

CB Lackey, Chief Operating Officer, Hillstone Environmental 

Bill Zartler, Chief Executive Officer, Solaris Midstream

10:00 AM - Landowner Water Opportunities

Richard Brantley, Executive Director, University Lands 

10:25 -  Break - Coffee & Pastries Provided

Poster Sessions

Session Five: Emerging Technology

SESSION CHAIR: Duane Germenis - Director, Veolia Water Technologies

10:45 AM - Full Recovery Desalination as a Solution for Produced Water

Sue Snyder, Chief Operating Officer, Enviro Water Minerals

11:10 AM - Emerging Technology in Modeling, Markets, Water Treatment for Discharge, and Desalination

Panel Participants:

Kimberly Gordan, PE, PG, Vice President, INTERA Petroleum Consultants

Josh Adler,  Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Sourcewater

J.P. Welch, Director, Industrial Projects, Veolia Water Technologies     

John Williams, Director of New Technology, Bosque Systems      

12:15 PM - Break - Lunch Provided

Keynote Speaker - Senator Charles Perry, Chair, Senate Committee on Agriculture,

Water and Rural Affairs 

1:30 PM - Fracturing with Undesirables 

Morgan Murphy and Danny Ratliff, Cudd Energy Services

Session Six: Gathering and Disposal - Part A

SESSION CHAIR: Jim F. Newman - Senior Vice President, Basic Energy Services

 2:00 PM - Disposal in the Ellenberger Formation

Trace Hight, Founder & CEO, On Point   

2:30 PM - Design Considerations for Full Cycle Water Management Systems

Ken Fairchild, Director, Water Logistics, Basic Energy Services

3:00 PM - Break - Coffee & Snacks Provided

Session Six: Gathering and Disposal - Part B


3:15 PM - Parsley Energy - Sustainable Water Management Planning

Malachi Elliott, Water Management Engineer, Parsley Energy

3:45 PM - Shale Water 4.0: Behind the Curtain

Taylor Silva, Senior Engineer, H2O Midstream 

4:15 PM - Business Opportunities in Gathering & Disposal

Scott Mitchell, Commercial Manager-Water, Anadarko Petroleum

4:45 PM - Adjourn for the Day

Friday, February 23 - Day 3

8:30 AM - Welcome Back and Announcements

Session Seven: The Big Picture and Continuing Education (with Ethics Credit)

SESSION CHAIR: Carter Copeland, President, Owl Energy Services, LP

8:45 AM - Looking Forward: Importing Institutional Concepts from the Water World

Dr. Rod Smith, President, Stratecon  

9:15 AM - Seismicity and Saltwater Disposal Well Permitting

Aaron Velasco, Railroad Commission Seismologist

9:45 AM - Break - Coffee & Pastries Provided

Poster Sessions

10:00 AM - Projecting The Future of Midstream Water in the Permian

Robert Rubey, Co-Founder and Chief Commercial Officer, Goodnight Midstream

10:20 AM - Engineering Ethics

Arlen Edgar

10:45 AM - Business Ethics*

Dr. Wayne Counts, Associate Dean, College of Business at UT Permian Basin

11:15 AM - A Shot with Water - Alcoholism and Addiction in the Professions*

Max Wright, Partner, Kelly Hart & Hallman

*Any engineer may choose to claim ethics credit for this presentation.

11:45 AM - Closing Remarks